Committees

Participating on committees provides members the opportunity to assist BOMA Silicon Valley in achieving its goals and objectives. Committees are established to deal with ongoing issues and events that effect the organization and our industry.

Volunteer today to join a BOMA committee and become an integral part of the organization. It is a great way to meet people on a more intimate basis, network with members you might not meet otherwise and make a difference in our industry.

If you are interested in joining a committee or need more information, contact the committee chairperson directly. You must be a BOMA Silicon Valley member to participate on a committee.

Associates Committee

Plans the social and networking events by BOMA Silicon Valley Associate members. The Associate Committee meets the third Tuesday of every month from noon to 1:00 pm. The meetings are open to all current Associate Members. A Principal member will speak during this "brown bag" lunch hour.

Chair: Christian Pellecchia (Slatter Construction, Inc.), cpellecchia@slattcon.com


Associates Night (Trade Show) Committee

Plans and coordinates the Associates Nite event. The committee begins meeting in November and meets monthly. The event is held in April.

Chair: Brian Michael (Perfection Sweeping), brian@perfectionsweeping.com

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee has several functions: 

  1. It manages The Outstanding Building of the Year Award program.  The TOBY Award is the most prestigious and comprehensive award program of its kind in the commercial real estate industry, recognizing quality in buildings and awarding excellence in building management and environmental stewardship.  (For more information on the TOBY Award, click here.)
  2. The Committee promotes the BOMA 360 designation program.  The program benchmarks building performance in six key areas: operations and management; security and safety; training and education; energy; environment and sustainability; and tenant relations. 
  3. It coordinates the Celebration of Commercial Real Estate event in the fall.  This event includes the installation of the next year's Board, presentation of volunteer and building awards, as well as recognition for instructors, committee volunteer leaders, and sponsors for their support of the organization.

Co-chairs: 
Tracy Ward (JLL), Tracy.Ward@am.jll.com
Danielle Mello (Hines), danielle.mello@hines.com

Education Committee

Handles all of the educational courses through BOMI for the designations of RPA, FMA and SMA. Creates Educational and Professional Practice programs.

Chair: Leslie Fisk (CBRE), leslie.fisk@cbre.com

Emergency Preparedness Committee

The Emergency Preparedness Committee is dedicated to developing and promoting a state of readiness within the commercial real estate industry through education, training, planning and awareness.

Chair: Shawn Kelly (Hudson Pacific Properties), skelly@hudsonppi.com

Emerging Leaders in Commercial Real Estate

Organized for professionals in the commercial real estate industry with seven (7) years or less experience to meet and network. Open to member and non members. Over the course of the year Council leadership will plan mixers, social events, outings and other opportunities to meet and mix. Contact the co-chairs for further information or if you are interested in becoming a member of the Council's steering committee.

Co-chairs:
Angela Mueller (Briggs Development), angela@briggsdev.com
Stephanie Curtis (CBC Advisors), stephanie.curtis@cbcadvisors.com


Energy and Sustainable Management Committee

The goal of this committee is to promote energy efficiency in building management, encourage our members buildings to use EPA Energy Star for benchmarking energy efficiency in their buildings, and encourage LEED Green Building Certification.

Chair:  Jonathan Leder (Oracle),  jonathan.leder@oracle.com

Golf Tournament Committee

Plans, coordinates and promotes the annual golf tournament. The committee begins meeting in late January with the event held in June.

Co-chairs:
Persis McGinn
LaToya Ross (Hudson Pacific Properties), lross@hudsonppi.com

Government Affairs Committee

The Government Affairs Committee oversees legislation and participates in BOMACAL, the state political arm of BOMA.

Chair: Sarahann Shapiro (Pahl & McCay), sshapiro@pahl-mccay.com

Membership Committee

This committee is responsible for the growth of our association. The committee has four subcommittees: Recruitment, New Members, Retention, and Special Events.  Meetings are held monthly. This committee is accepting leadership volunteers. 

Chair: Tiffany Lauchlan (Cushman & Wakefield), tiffany.lauchlan@cushwake.com

Programs Committee

This committee recruits speakers and presentations for the monthly luncheon programs.

Chair:  Elaine Watts (Kilroy Realty Corporation), ewatts@kilroyrealty.com

Share Your Holiday Committee

A BOMA tradition, this committee is responsible for raising funds to feed needy families and provide toys for children each Holiday Season.

Co-chairs:
Tatiane Martins (Hudson Pacific Properties), tmartins@hudsonppi.com
Sam Russell (Accel Air Systems), srussell@accelairsystems.com

Sponsorship Committee

Works with Treasurer to create and recruit Association Sponsorships that meet the needs of our Associate members and support BOMA's financial wellbeing.

Chair: Position is vacant

 

 

Share |